Cricket Women Cricket

Five new faces in England Test squad

England women have announced the 13-member squad for the upcoming Test match against South Africa. The retirement of Anya Shrubsole and Katherine Brunt has opened the doors for new stars in the line-up as the Test squad feature five debutants.

The 13-member squad feature Emily Arlott, Lauren Bell, Alice Davidson-Richards, Freya Davies and Emma Lamb among other regular stars. Issy Wong has been named as the travelling reserve.

Talking about the squad, England coach Lisa Keightley said: “We’re at the beginning of a new ICC Women’s Championship cycle, which starts for us with the India ODIs [in September], and it’s natural that we’re looking forward with one eye on who may be a key player for us come 2025.

“Similarly with Katherine Brunt retired from Test cricket and Anya Shrubsole from all forms of the international game, a number of bowling spots have opened up which is hugely exciting for those players. I’m sure they’ll all be very keen to grab their opportunity.

England squad for South Africa Test:

Heather Knight (C), Emily Arlott, Tammy Beaumont, Lauren Bell, Kate Cross, Alice Davidson-Richards, Freya Davies, Charlie Dean, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Amy Jones, Emma Lamb, Nat Sciver (VC), Issy Wong (reserve)

England A team who will take on the visitors from 21st June for three-day match will be led by Georgia Elwiss and the squad has six Southern Vipers stars.

A-team will also see Danni Wyatt as well as Lauren Winfield-Hill among others.

England A team squad: Georgia Elwiss (c), Maia Bouchier, Danni Gibson, Sarah Glenn, Freya Kemp, Eve Jones, Ella McCaughan, Kalea Moore, Tara Norris, Grace Potts, Grace Scrivens, Alexa Stonehouse, Mady Villiers, Lauren Winfield-Hill, Danni Wyatt.

Related posts

South Africa not to travel England due to COVID19 restrictions


Leave a Comment