Cricket Women Cricket

South Africa announce squad for England Test

South African women will play their first Test match since 2014. The Board have announced the squad for the one-off Test against England. Marizanne Kapp, Lizelle Lee and Sinalo Jafta have all been included in the squad. The trio had to sit out against Ireland recently.

Dane van Niekerk, the South African captain, remains unavailable for the series and Sune Luus will take over the captaincy once again.

South Africa will play a red-ball warm-up match next week, in preparation for the Test.

“With the red ball, the main thing is to find our feet as a team again in the format and we take it one day at a time, then we can only progress into it and players can have an opportunity to go into a three-day prep,” coach Hilton Moreeng said.

“Those that haven’t had the opportunity when we were back home can also start getting their aim of the red ball. Post that we know we are heading into ODI cricket and T20Is to build up into the Commonwealth Games.”

South Africa Squad for England Tour:

Anneke Bosch, Trisha Chetty (wk), Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus (capt), Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Andrie Steyn, Chloé Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt

Leave a Comment