CricketWomen Cricket

On this day, 1988, Australia went on to win the World Cup for the 3rd time.

The tournament was shorter than usual as there were only five teams- Australia(hosts), England, New Zealand, Ireland and Netherlands.

Australia and England, the top two teams in the group, went on to play the final. Australia’s only defeat in the league matches came against the same opponent while England had lost once to Australia and once to New Zealand before the final.

In the final, England made only 127 with Jan Brittin scoring 46*. For Australia, Lyn Fullston had three wickets while skipper Larsen had two wickets.

Australia then went on to win the match by 8 wickets, thanks to the partnership of Lindsay Reeler and Denise Annetts. Reeler had 59, Annetts had 48

Most runs in the WC-
Lindsay Reeler- 448
Debbie Hockley- 446

Most wickets-
Lyn Fullston- 16
Karen Brown- 12

England’s Carole Hodges won the player of the tournament award for her 336 runs and 12 wickets.

*India did not make it to the World Cup because of lack of funds.

Related posts

யுகத்தின் தலைவன் யுவராஜ் சிங்

Shiva Chelliah

பார்டர் கவாஸ்கர் டிராபி-90ஸ் மெமரிஸ்

Kesavan Madumathy

சாதித்த ஆக்ஸ்போர்டு பல்கலைகழகம் ; கொரோனா மருந்து பரிசோதனை வெற்றி


சரித்திர நாயகன் தோனி …!

Kesavan Madumathy

ZIMW vs PAKW, 1st One-Day: Pakistan win by 178 runs


Younis Khan named Pakistan batting coach for England tour

Gomesh Shanmugavelayutham

Wyatt recalled as England announce squad for New Zealand ODIs

Anjali Raga Jammy

WWT20, 2nd match, AUS v PAK: Australia starts on a high note.


World Cup 2022: Healy’s ton take Australia to final


Women’s World Cup T20: England stick with familiar faces


Women’s teams win top spots for emotional connect with fans in Australia


Women’s team from Kerala to tour to UAE for friendly games


Leave a Comment